He lives!

I feel as though I am not seeking as fervently as I should be throughout the day to recognize the hand of the Lord in all things. I really feel that I go through my days quite selfishly sometimes, and that I seek only to advance myself and my understanding and my knowledge. It isn’t a BAD thing to do this by any means, and I understand that; but I know that there are better things I can be doing, such as seeking to serve others, and that the best thing I could be doing is looking for opportunities to share the Gospel with others and to testify of our Savior, Jesus Christ. It is difficult for me, and honestly I don’t believe it’s ever easy for anyone at the start. It isn’t that I’m afraid really, it’s just that I’m unsure. I don’t know how to lead into it.

In 1 Peter 3:15 it says, But sanctify the Lord God in your hearts: and be ready always to give an answer to every man that asketh you a reason of the hope that is in you with meekness and fear.

One of the best moments I’ve had on this job recently was when a woman said to me,
“Are you a Christian?”
I smiled and responded, “Yes I am.”
She said, “I thought so. You seem very at peace.”

It was a short conversation that followed, but that really stuck with me and has been a wonderful testimony to me that Christ truly has the power to change lives. What a remarkable promise this is, that we can become new men, reborn through Jesus Christ, to become someone far, far greater than we ever could have become on our own.

1 Timothy 1:15 This is a faithful saying, and worthy of all acceptation, that Christ Jesus came into the world to save sinners; of whom I am chief.

I wish I could join Paul in saying that I committed my sins in ignorance, or that I could not join him in saying that I am chief among sinners, but I know that Christ Jesus did truly come to save me, and to save each of us, as many as would come unto Him. I will not let His atoning sacrifice be in vain, not for me. I love my Savior, and I will never be able to thank him enough for what he continues to do for me.

D&C 76:22 And now, after the many testimonies which have been given of him, this is the testimony, last of all, which we give of him: That he lives!

Leave a Reply

