20 May, 2013 14:20

Weekly Scripture:

Alma 37:9 Yea, I say unto you, were it not for these things that these records do contain, which are on these plates, Ammon and his brethren could not have convinced so many thousands of the Lamanites of the incorrect tradition of their fathers; yea, these records and their words brought them unto repentance; that is, they brought them to the knowledge of the Lord their God, and to rejoice in Jesus Christ their Redeemer.

I am so totally out of time. My companion is being me going trunky out of his mind, and I am just beginning my weekly email. This blog is going to be difficult to keep going!! BUT I WILL NOT FAIL!

This week has been incredible!!!!! I wanted to put like 20 more exclamation points there. The church is so true. IT’S SO TRUE!

(Quick Disclaimer: I will never use names of any people here in the mission other than companions, as I will likely invite people I meet here to read my blog throughout my mission.)

So my companion met a man this week while I was on an exchange in the area of Russell, Kentucky (which is absolutely gorgeous by the way, and I may have found my future home, no joke), who is, without question, one of the most kind, charitable, incorruptible people I have ever met. He is phenomenal. Elders Raffensparger and Green were out working in the pouring rain and a man calls across the street to them “Man, you guys are dedicated!” They hopped across the street and set up an appointment to meet with him the next day. As we sat and talked with him, I felt the love of God for this man so much that I couldn’t stop the tears. As this man shared his story I wanted to share EVERYTHING with him! Every time he said something about himself, issues he faces, things he has experienced, pain he has felt, I wanted to say “Look! The Gospel can answer that! Read this pamphlet! Read this chapter! Look at this verse!” The Spirit was so strong in that lesson. At the end we set up an appointment to meet with him tomorrow. We knew that President Pitt would be coming down and asked if it would be alright if we brought him. He jumped at the opportunity! He is so excited to learn the Gospel, and I am so excited to see him progress. He has been prepared, there is no question of that.

We received two bits of exciting news this week that I want to share and then, sadly, I must depart.

1. We’re getting a third companion! For the final few weeks of the transfer we are going to have another missionary join our companionship! In our District Meeting this past Tuesday, one of the elders in my District who is going home after this transfer said that the best 6 weeks of his mission was when he was in a tripanionship. Elder Raffensparger and I are so stoked!

2. WE’RE GETTING SISTERS IN OUR WARD!!!! This news is incredible. The work has honestly exploded in our area, which covers a single ward, and we received a call from President Pitt on Friday telling us that we needed to find them an apartment and that we will be splitting the area with them. Amazingly, (obviously not coincidentally) we just had a HUGE breakthrough in finding and teaching in the exact city that President Pitt wants to place the sisters in. The Lord is pushing the work forward in this area and we and the members of the ward are “catching the wave”. =)

Time to take off before my companion loses his mind. I pray that all is well with each of you. Please keep President Monson in your prayers. Never forget “how merciful the Lord hath been unto the children of men… and ponder it in your hearts” (Moroni 10:3), and then go out and share it. The church is true. Jesus Christ is your Savior, and He is my Savior, and He is everyone else’s Savior too. Our Father wants each of His children to come home. Never forget.

All my love
Elder Williams

Some pictures of the scenery!!!!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Leave a Reply

