9 July, 2013 16:15

“Don’t stop, walk teach and preach till you can’t, then do it more!”

Vann Childs gives the BEST motivational lines!

I always run out of things to say by the time I finally get here and start emailing my blog. I think I’d like to share for a minute about Charity.

Charity: The pure love of Christ

As I was driving to Ohio from West Virginia, my Trainer asked me, “Elder Williams, what is your goal for your mission?”
I smiled and answered “I want to develop Charity.”

While in the MTC I learned a powerful lesson about charity. There was a day when Elder Hohneke and I had a difficult time. I don’t remember who we were feeling frustrated by, but I do remember that at the end of the day we were feeling laden down by a heavy negativity. That night we talked about charity, and we decided to read from the verses in Moroni 7 when he describes it. He says:

45 And charity suffereth long, and is kind, and envieth not, and is not puffed up, seeketh not her own, is not easily provoked, thinketh no evil, and rejoiceth not in iniquity but rejoiceth in the truth, beareth all things, believeth all things, hopeth all things, endureth all things.
46 Wherefore, my beloved brethren, if ye have not charity, ye are nothing, for charity never faileth. Wherefore, cleave unto charity, which is the greatest of all, for all things must fail—
47 But charity is the pure love of Christ, and it endureth forever; and whoso is found possessed of it at the last day, it shall be well with him.

In these verses we learn what charity involves: It suffers, endures, and bears all things, it seeks not its own, it is patient and thinks no evil… but the part that stood out to me that night is that it endures forever and never fails. I have always been frustrated by the fact that I am easily frustrated, that I am not patient with others, and that I often put my own desires before those of others. As we studied these verses that night, I realized that when I am filled with this pure love of Christ, I will NEVER feel that way. That love will endure in me forever, through all trials. That night, I determined that over the course of my mission I want to be filled with this love.

I am making progress. It is slow, but it is happening. I have learned that Charity is not something I can develop. It is a gift from God, a sanctifying and purifying of the heart that comes as you pray to see with His eyes. It extends far beyond seeing people the way He sees them, and literally becomes seeing the world: places, people, animals, insects, responsibilities, everything under our stewardship and influence, the way that Christ sees them. The whole world is changing in my eyes, everything about myself, the future, what I want and what I do, it is all changing as I develop this vision.

I’m out of time. =)

I love you all. Thank you for your prayers, your support, and your love.

Elder Williams

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Leave a Reply

