August 5th P-Day!

Man, I am super out of things to say this week. I’m halfway through writing my weekly letter to my mission president and my mind stopped producing paragraphs with cogently related sentences, so I’m taking a break to write all of you! You’re welcome!

The work is seeming to slow down here in Portsmouth. I’m not 100% sure why, but I wonder if we are not taking care for the Lord’s children as He needs us to. Being a full-time missionary is an incredibly sobering responsibility, and I often reflect on Jacob 5:72…

And it came to pass that the servants did go and labor with their mights; and the Lord of the vineyard labored also with them; and they did obey the commandments of the Lord of the vineyard in all things.

We have to labor with our might, obeying the commandments of the Lord in all things. If we do that, He will labor with us. It’s difficult to find the balance between the good, the better, and the best, but we are working to do it. By the way, SMILE!

There’s a face only a mother could love…

Elder Carter is a stud, by the way. He is a 6’5″ baseball and basketball star, went through the accident of a lifetime when he crashed a quad and was 30 minutes from bleeding out, and has a testimony that could shake the foundations of hell. Whenever we walk into sketchy situations, I walk behind him. He doesn’t like that.

Last night we went with one of the young men in the ward to home teach one of his families. We decided to teach them the first lesson, the Restoration. We have been focusing our study on that lesson, and have been teaching it to everyone we can. A few days ago I challenged Elder Carter to memorize Joseph Smith’s first vision, and to recite it slowly, with care, and to pause afterward and allow the Spirit to be felt, and then to bear testimony. I wasn’t ready for it when it happened last night. He did it, 100%, and it was one of the most powerful moments we have had together. I was grateful and humbled, once again, to know that the Lord is in charge, and will help His missionaries to become what they need to be.

I know that we are performing the Lord’s work here. I know that we are called by Him, and that He is here beside us, working with us to save His children.

Please don’t give up on yourselves. As Mufasa says, “Remember who you are. Remember.”

Please don’t give up on your families–your siblings, parents, or children who are wavering or wandering. Don’t ever stop praying for them. If you don’t pray for them, who will? Please don’t give up. Remember Alma the younger and the sons of Mosiah who were saved because “the Lord hath heard the prayers of his people, and also the prayers of his servant, Alma… that the prayers of his servants might be answered according to their faith.”

Know that I love you, that I love the Lord, and that I know that the Lord loves you. I pray for you, I am grateful for you, for your support, your love, and your part in the great plan of our Father in Heaven.

I echo the words of Vann Childs once again: “preach hard! Love hard! Live hard, walk hard! Be hard? Eat hard! Read scriptures HARD! Convert hard”

Keep the faith. Hard.

Elder Williams

One thought on “August 5th P-Day!

  1. I loved finding this blog today….I am Elder’s Carter’s aunt and I just want you to know I think he is pretty amazing too. Thank you Elder Williams for being such an amazing example!

Leave a Reply

