14 October, 2013 16:43

This will be a very short email! We spent the first 3 hours today deep-cleaning our apartment. IT WAS AWESOME! Exclamation POINT! Seriously, though, de-junking may be my favorite part of coming into a new apartment. But guess what came with that new apartment?

TWO NEW COMPANIONS!!!!

That’s right Brothers and Sisters, TWO! Elders Russo and Espinosa are seriously amazing. MAN I’m pumped just thinking about how awesome they are! Elder Russo is waiting for his visa to come through so he can head to the Brazil São Paulo Interlagos Mission. I think the Lord lost his visa so he could spend some time here in Winfield with us though, because he is teaching us how to be missionaries. This 18 year Elder possibly has the biggest heart of anyone I’ve ever met. I’m sure I said that about Elder Carter, but I’m sorry Elder Carter, this Elder takes the cake. He is so humble, and wants to work hard, and LOVES everyone that we meet, and bears his testimony about every 15 seconds, and it always brings the Spirit. Man, I’m so psyched to have him here!

AND THEN there’s Elder Espinosa. I think my first question when I heard I would be transferred with him was “Does he speak Spanish?!” I was pretty psyched, but no, he does not. He’s super white. And awesome. He wasn’t called to be a trainer, and we were both surprised to find out that we were adopting Elder Russo 6 weeks into his training, but Elder Espinosa gets to finish his training and I get to be like… the grandpa, watching and learning and sharing my experiences when appropriate. It’s really cool. We also get to spend an extra hour each day studying Portuguese, which is fantastic! Eu falo Português! I love it so far, way better than
Español, but it’s got a lot of rules, like English, which stinks.

We’re serving here in Winfield WV and our new address is:

Elder Benjamin Williams
749 Winfield Avenue Apt 3
Winfield, WV 25213

Something is wigging out the pictures on this computer, so I can only attach pictures at the end. Scroll down to see these guys. Overlook my shoddy appearance. Also, check out the fish.

I also wanted to share some pictures from my last few days in Portsmouth, and share some great things.

A few days before the end of transfers, 14 year old Caleb Darby decided that he wanted to be baptized. He knew I was leaving, and wanted me to be the one to baptize him. I can’t describe how much that meant to me. We worked quickly, and the young men of the ward pulled together an amazing service. On October 9th, 2013, Caleb Darby was baptized. My heart is full to think back on it. What an incredible young man, and now I get to be a part of his family forever.

I had to say “see you later” to a lot of amazing friends, not the least of which being Shawna Boggs, also pictured in Caleb’s baptismal photo. Bridgett and her son Jojo, George Hamm and Brother Woodard, and the faithful Leedom family are also pictured. =) There are so many people I came to love during my 6 months in Portsmouth, and I didn’t get to say “see you later” to all of them, but I will love and cherish each of you, and I will come back to see you. Thank you all for an incredibly 6 months as a missionary.

All my love to you,
Elder Williams

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Leave a Reply

