October 28 (and 21) Update!

Beloved friends and family!

I must ask for your forgiveness for failing to write you last week! Last P-day was very full of administrative duties, and it ended before I realized it.

I’d like to share a fun story. We were driving home for dinner and Elder Russo started singing something. Naturally, I turned on the CD player (ha ha). We’ve been listening to one of Elder Espinosa’s classical CDs for the past 2 weeks. Elder Russo said “do we have any other… non-classical CDs in the car?”

“What’s wrong with classical music?” I asked.

“We’ll get another CD on Tuesday.” Elder Espinosa responded.

We pulled into the parking lot of our apartment and up to the mailbox. Elder Russo grabs the mail and I look over at it and see the name “Rob Gardner”.

“Rob Gardner?” I asked; then I saw the other name: “Benjamin Williams”.

“It’s for me! From Rob Gardner? What the heck?” I exclaimed in delight.

For those of you who don’t know, Rob Gardner is an LDS musical composer, producer, singer, lyricist, director… the guy is a legend.

“Well, Elder Russo, if this is what I think it is, then you’ll have a new CD to listen to shortly, and it’ll be one of the best!” I said.

When I got inside the apartment I opened it up. It was a CD with a collection of sacred hymns arranged for missionaries by Rob Gardner. So stoked! I opened the billing statement, and then it all made sense.

“Bill to: KaLee Fackrell”

=) Thank you KaLee. We’ve listened to it 4-5 times already and we LOVE it.

I also received word that DAN FACKRELL is a DADDY! Congratulations Dan and Katie! I’m so happy for you two, and I’m excited to meet Dr. Fackrell in a year and a half! You two will be amazing parents.

Another story: when I was in my first area, I was sent an amazing care package from my parents. Included in the box were gluten free pancake and hot cereal mixes from Red Baron! Well, I’ve been eating “just add water” pancakes for the past 20 weeks at least, and this week, I decided to change it up!

Oh snap… I took a picture to show but I left my camera cable…

Elder Espinosa and I totally made gluten free pancakes though, and we also made a diced-apple and mashed-banana syrup to pour over them. It was a super-delicious lunch. I don’t think I’d trade my birthright for them, but they were pretty stinking good.

Alright, now for the best story of all:

We’ve been teaching a young man (21) named Scott Spinner since before I arrived here in Winfield (for about 2 months I think). He has been through a lot in his life, and I have been impressed with his character, his wisdom and maturity, and his desire for good ever since I met him. He is also going into the Army early November–just a really all around great guy. Well, Scott’s whole story is a miracle. His entry into the military was delayed for just really crazy reasons. He was supposed to enter right after the missionaries met him, but he was granted extra time. For the past 2 months we have been teaching him, preparing him, and helping him to gain a testimony for himself, and he has. On Saturday, Oct. 26, Scott Spinner was baptized into the fold and family of Jesus Christ. Yesterday, he was confirmed a member of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints, and received the Gift of the Holy Ghost. What a marvelous weekend. I cannot describe my gratitude at being a part of this great work.

We have a short time today, and I have to go email President Pitt, but I love you all and am grateful for all of your support, your prayers, and your testimonies! The church is true! The Book is blue!

Bangarang!
Elder Williams

Leave a comment