4 November, 2013 12:57

[exasperated tone] “Yes, hellooooooo…”

“It’s Miles… am I in trouble?”

Name that movie.

I told everyone before I left that I needed to stop playing “Name that Movie”. Well, that is much easier said than done. The other night as we were laying down to go to sleep, Elder Espinosa, Elder Russo, and I pretty much quoted the entire “The Princess Bride” movie. It’s getting bad here in Winfield =P.

This week has been really enjoyable. It got really cold for about a week and a half. During that time I bought 2 sweaters, a coat, a scarf, 2 gloves (naturally), and some breath mints. They were the Eclipse mints in the little blue tin can, 1.99 for 90 of them, seriously awesome deal, and those things work like magic. Because they didn’t have the coat OR sweaters in my size (naturally), I had to order them. I then waited 7-10 days for arrival. When they finally showed up on our doorstep, I was so stoked. The next day I got all bundled up, walked outside, and found it to be a good 15 degrees warmer than it had been to that point (naturally). It’s been that way this whole week! All I want to do is wear all my new stuff! I got a pretty sweet deal on it all though, so I’m not upset.

Now I want to share about an amazing family and the miracles that led to our finding them. We recently met and began teaching Annette, Christina, Destiny, Allison, and Joseph.

Miracle 1: We were walking into an apartment complex and passed a guy walking his dogs. We stopped him talked with him briefly. He was just taking a break from watching the football game. He attends a local church and really wasn’t interested in learning more about our message, but was nice enough. We asked him if he knew anyone who had recently moved in to the complex. He pointed at the building he lived in and said “Yeah, we actually just helped a family move in upstairs!” We thanked him and somehow we walked away without getting any further information, but we decided to knock on a few doors in the building.”

Miracle 2: We went upstairs, passed by a few doors, and then knocked on one. Out came Annette. She seemed flustered and had 2 young children with her, so we said “We heard there was a family who just moved in.” She said, “That’s us! Two nice gentlemen downstairs helped us move all of our stuff up here!” We welcomed her and met her grandson Joe, and asked if we could come by another time. She said we could and we set up an appointment and parted ways.

Miracle 3: We came by on Monday night for our appointment and met Annette’s daughter, Christina. She said that she had just started dinner, and that her mother hadn’t mentioned the appointment, but that we could come back at 8 and meet with them then!

Miracle 4: When we went back at 8, the whole family was gathered in the Living room and they welcomed us in and we got to sit/stand and share the message of the restoration with them. I sat and played with Joseph for much of it. He’s an awesome kid. Every time he wanted to say something he would raise his hand. It was clear he was just dying to speak each time, so I would call on him and he would say things like “wait one minute I’ll be right back!” He drew me a picture in my planner (of me, with my full name) and we pet the dog and had a great time. It was an amazing experience and they are a wonderful family. We learned about the sad circumstances that brought them to the apartment complex, and my heart reached out to them. I have no doubt that they were led there and we to them. They were very receptive and we are excited to get to meet with them again. We’re thinking about baking them cookies/taking them a dinner this week.

We have had some really incredible experiences as we’ve prayed earnestly to find people who are being prepared this week. When we filled out our weekly progress record and saw the names of the people we had taught, we realized how strong a list it was. Each individual has a sincere interest in learning about the Gospel of Jesus Christ, and each is making amazing progress in their own way. It’s been a marvelous week full of miracles and witnessing the hand of the Lord.

I also wanted to thank my parents for the amazing box I received this week! I once again left my camera cable at home, so I can’t upload the sweet pictures I took this week. I’ll try and remember to grab that this week. Things are going great though, life is marvelous, and the future is bright!

I miss each of you and pray that you are well and are witnessing the Lord’s miracles in your life each day. Please pray for the family above that they will make it through the difficulties they are facing and that they will feel the power of the Spirit as they read the Book of Mormon!

Scriptural witnesses to the power of Prayer:
Alma 31:38 And the Lord provided for them that they should hunger not, neither should they thirst; yea, and he also gave them strength, that they should suffer no manner of afflictions, save it were swallowed up in the joy of Christ. Now this was according to the prayer of Alma; and this because he prayed in faith.

James 5:16 Confess your faults one to another, and pray one for another, that ye may be healed. The effectual fervent prayer of a righteous man availeth much.
Love,

Elder Williams

Leave a Reply

