Oh the weather outside is DELIGHTFUL!

So last night I went outside to get something from the car and it was warm and raining; this morning I woke up and it was COLD AND SNOWING!

Heck yes! We started singing Christmas songs the day after Halloween, by they way. We sang the First Noel yesterday during companion study. It was glorious.

Things are moving along marvelously here in Winfield, West Virginia! We have been working to find people to teach for the first 3-4 weeks of the transfer. We have found many of potential investigators (people who expressed interest in learning more), received many referrals, and have been working on contacting and following-up with each person. For the first few weeks we didn’t see much success with teaching any of them, but in the past week and a half we have found 4 new families with whom we have been able to share the message of the Restoration. We are now teaching 6 marvelous families, and are seeing some incredible miracles happening in their lives.

Last week we taught the message of the Restoration to Brian and Josie and their three sons, the youngest of whom is 18 months old and sat shaking his head through most of the lesson. =) As we watched the 20 minute Restoration video, we felt the Spirit testify in great power of the divinity of what we were sharing. In a previous discussion, Brian had shared that it meant a lot to him that the Gospel promised peace and joy, which he has not been able to find. “Something’s got to change”, he said. At the end of the lesson this week, Josie shared that she had been praying for the Lord to reach out to her and show her the way, and then we showed up. Incredible things happen when you allow the Spirit to work through you and follow His counsel. As the Spirit bore witness to all of us, we invited them to be baptized, and they accepted. With the help of the Lord, the guidance of the Spirit, and the prayers of missionaries and members, they will be baptized on December 28th. What a marvelous Christmas they will have.

I am so grateful to be here. I am so grateful to be engaged in the work of the Lord. We had the marvelous experience of receiving instruction from Elder Joseph W. Sitati of the first Quorum of the Seventy and his wife. He taught us about our purpose as missionaries. Everything we do out here revolves around our purpose. “Our purpose is to invite others to come unto Christ, by helping them receive the restored Gospel through faith in Jesus Christ and His atonement, repentance, baptism, receiving the Gift of the Holy Ghost, and enduring to the end.” When we understand that purpose, we become the Lord’s missionaries. We do what He would do. We talk to everyone, without fear. We testify boldly and with power of the incredible message we have, the Gospel of Jesus Christ. We wake up and jump out of bed. We study the scriptures with dedication and focus, feasting upon the word. We pray with all the energy of heart for Charity and for the success of those we teach and those we love. We obey with exactness, trusting in the Lord to deliver if we do our part in faith.

My heart is so full. President Pitt shared with us 2 things from the pulpit during our meeting with Elder Sitati. He said, through tears, “Every morning I wake up and I tell my wife, “Today we get to be missionaries all day.” Later, he said, through tears, “I’m sorry I cry so much, but I only get a few short years to cry in front of missionaries.” In those two moments, I saw a glimpse of how much his mission means to him. I love this work. I love my fellow laborers here, my beloved mission President, my companions, my district and zone, they are magnificent individuals. Most of all, I love the Lord, and am so grateful to be one missionary of His 80,000 strong, and growing.

D&C 18:15 And if it so be that you should labor all your days in crying repentance unto this people, and bring, save it be one soul unto me, how great shall be your joy with him in the kingdom of my Father!
16 And now, if your joy will be great with one soul that you have brought unto me into the kingdom of my Father, how great will be your joy if you should bring many souls unto me!

Come, join the ranks.

Elder Williams

Leave a Reply

