3 December, 2013 15:29

Dear beloved friends and family,

I love being a missionary. I love it. I love, love, love it. I love the scriptures. Every morning we have our personal and companion study, and every morning I sit down and look at my green set of scriptures and my heart just swells with emotion. Every time I am just filled up with gratitude to have them. I love them so much. I love my Savior, and I am so grateful to be on His team here. We are seeing miracles every single day. He is laboring with us.

I had to laugh as I copied the story about “L” and “K” that I sent last week and realized that I only replaced their names with letters the first time. Sorry girls =/ but maybe my friend caught it and replaced them for me. =)

I wondered what I would share today. Each day is different here. Each day we see an incredible miracle, and yet when we get to the end of the week it’s so difficult to know what to share!

We’ve been fellowshipping with a man who attends a local church and have attended his church’s services with him a few times. He is a man full of faith–a great Christian man. This morning I was reading in Chapter 5 of Preach my Gospel and the Lord instructed me on how I need to use the Book of Mormon more effectively in my teaching and proselyting. The Book of Mormon truly is the key to everything in this work. Investigators must know how important it is.

“Investigators must resolve for themselves their concerns and objections. You can help as you focus them on what will strengthen their faith in Jesus Christ—reading and praying about the Book of Mormon. When they strengthen their testimony of the Restoration, they will have the strength to overcome their objections and concerns.

As you answer concerns, remember that our understanding comes from modern prophets—Joseph Smith and his successors—who receive direct revelation from God. Therefore, the first question for an investigator to answer is whether Joseph Smith was a prophet, and he or she can answer this question by reading and praying about the Book of Mormon” (Preach My Gospel, Chapter 5).

As we left the apartment today, I felt to stop at the home of this man. We found him out back cutting his grass. We stood and talked with him for an hour, and as we did, I handed him another Book of Mormon, and testified to him of how important it was. The Spirit ran through me as I did so. I knew that what I was sharing was true, and I knew that he knew that I knew. As we parted ways, he promised that he would read the book and pray about it.

This was a short story, and a short email, but I want to testify of that book. I know the Book of Mormon is the word of God. I know that if we read it, ponder its teachings, and ask God in faith, He WILL testify to our hearts of its truth. I promise that, as Moroni and many other prophets have, in the name of Jesus Christ, amen.

Elder Williams

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Leave a Reply

