1 Nephi 4:6

“And I was led by the Spirit, not knowing beforehand the things which I should do.”

*The names in this story have been changed to protect the identity of the individuals involved.

Last night, we were planning our evening and the invitation came to attend The Depot, a local church we visit sometimes. Elder *Gringo has REALLY been wanting to go, but it hasn’t been an option since he’s been here. Elder Gringo voted yes, and normally, I would have agreed, but I just felt a subtle impression to decline. I spoke my piece and Elder Gringo submitted. So we got in the car after studying and drove. We quickly decided to go and see the Schmittendorf family (members of the ward), who live about a mile up the road. They told us previously that it’s better to just stop in, so that’s what we did. Their son Dirigible answered the door and invited us in. We joined him in the living room with his sister, Charity and her boyfriend Tenacity, who is not a member of our church. We decided to share a spiritual thought using a deck of cards, so I showed them my one trick, and they were astounded! As we were relating the scripture portion of it, Charity was still trying to figure out the card trick, and not paying attention, but then suddenly she said “Hey, would you be willing to teach a lesson to Tenacity so that he understands more about our church?” We were caught a little off guard, and I looked at Tenacity and asked “Did you have questions you wanted answered?”
“No.” he replied.
“Well, if you’d like, we’d be more than happy to teach you the first lesson that we teach to investigators of our church. We could treat you the same as we would treat them.” I said.
“Yeah, that’d be cool.” He replied.

What followed was an unexpected spirit-filled lesson about the Restoration of the Gospel to an awesome young man who is very sincere and very open. At the end, we asked, “Do you feel like what we’ve shared is an important message?”
“Yeah it’s REALLY important,” he said, “and there’s more power to it than anything else I’ve heard from a church.”

We then testified of how important it is that he gain a witness for himself. Tenacity expressed his gratitude and said that he would read from the Book of Mormon and that he would pray to know if it was true. At the end, we all knelt and Tenacity offered a simple, humble prayer.

With a heart full of gratitude that we had obeyed a subtle impression from the Spirit, we shook hands and departed.

I love this work. I love my Heavenly Father. I love my Savior. Experiences like this make it so clear to me that they know each of us. I refer to Heavenly Father sometimes as the Master Orchestrator. The way He orchestrates our lives, placing people in our paths one-by-one to guide us and influence us along our journey. Someday I will understand how. Always I will be grateful that He does. It is magnificent evidence of His love for each of us.

I want to thank each of you from the Catalina Ward for the cards you sent me! I haven’t read them all yet. I’m reading them a couple at a time on p-days and nights when I need a pick-me-up. They lift my spirits and remind me that there are people praying for all of us out here. Thank you so much for that!

Keep sharing the wonderful spirit of this holiday season with those around you. In the October 2013 General Conference, Elder M. Russell Ballard said “if every member, young and old, will reach out to just “one” between now and Christmas, millions will feel the love of the Lord Jesus Christ. And what a wonderful gift to the Savior.”

That’s this season! That’s now. =) I hope you know how much your Savior loves you, and I hope you share that knowledge with someone each day.

May God bless each of you with added peace today.
Love,
Elder Williams

One thought on “1 Nephi 4:6

  1. Merry Christmas BENNIE! I read your posts just don’t have a ton of time to write. Church gets cancelled here when we get crazy blizzards but not very often even with icy roads and lots of snow. STAY WARM! If you need anything let me know I can send you anything you need. I’ll try to get with Ladawn and get you another package sent just let me know what you want and need. I got a good Christmas bonus at work this year! 😀 So its NO PROBLEM! LOVE YOU MAN! KEEP UP THE WORK! and enjoy the holidays! only get a couple of mission Christmas times. THEY ARE GREAT TIMES!

Leave a Reply

