10 March, 2014 16:10

My loved ones,

What a great blessing it is to be here in Salem with Elder Chad Young. I really did stop taking pictures since I’ve been here, so I apologize that you haven’t seen a picture of my companion yet, but he’s great. We’re getting close to the end of the transfer… only 2 weeks away now. I’m hoping the Lord will leave us here together, but I know better than to pray for it =). We are making breakthroughs in our communication with one-another, which is leading to greater understanding, forgiveness, and an increase in love. What a marvelous experience this is. It’s clear to me that the trials of each previous companion has prepared me to make a step higher, and has ultimately prepared me for this companionship.

During my personal study this morning, the Lord shared something with me which I thought was pretty swell.

Malachi 3:3 And he shall sit as a refiner and purifier of silver: and he shall purify the sons of Levi, and purge them as gold and silver…

Jeremiah 9:7 Therefore thus saith the Lord of hosts, Behold, I will melt them, and try them…

Zechariah 13:9 And I will bring the third part through the fire, and will refine them as silver is refined, and will try them as gold is tried: they shall call on my name, and I will hear them: I will say, It is my people: and they shall say, The Lord is my God.

When a metal is refined and purified, it is placed into a container called a crucible. It is then smelted (melted) and the metals separate by weight–the heaviest metal falling to the bottom, and the dross rising to the top.

In Ether 12:27, the Lord tells us, “And if men come unto me I will show unto them their weakness. I give unto men weakness that they may be humble; and my grace is sufficient for all men that humble themselves before me; for if they humble themselves before me, and have faith in me, then will I make weak things become strong unto them.”

Four transfers ago, I promised the Lord that I would give Him all. I gave Him my will, my desires, and promised that I would become what He wanted me to be. I know He heard me, and accepted, and plunged me into the furnace. These past four transfers especially have been crucibles for me. I came unto Him, and He is showing me my weakness. Each day I face some trial that causes that weakness to rise to the top, and I must turn to Him again and ask Him to take it from me. I am being refined and purified, and it is marvelous.

How much I love my mission. How grateful I am to be here. I love my Savior and Redeemer with all my heart. I know He stands at the head of this church, and that He has called me here to serve. What a marvelous time this is to be a missionary. I hope each of you are getting to be a part of it. I know it’s up to you to be so.

I love you and pray for you.

With all my heart,
Elder Williams

Leave a Reply

