3 September, 2014 12:29

DEAR EVERYONE!

This morning during my personal study, I studied D&C 1. It is incredible. I couldn’t believe how plainly our missionary purpose is stated for the world to understand. "That all who will hear, may hear", that is why we are sent out! To proclaim the gospel to every nation, kindred, tongue, and people. I realized that I haven’t been bold enough in my declaration of the gospel, that it is only found in its completeness within the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints. (D&C 1:30) I made a commitment to change that. People need to know.

This week I also found an incredible talk in the August Ensign. It was given by Elder D. Todd Christofferson during a seminar for new mission presidents in 2008. Why We Share the Gospel

Here is one short excerpt:

"We are all asked to be missionaries. And to be effective in sharing the gospel of Jesus Christ, we must have this purpose in our mind, feel it in our heart, accept it in our soul, and act upon it. When we do, it both inspires and guides us in sharing the gospel. We must keep clear the distinction between the purpose of sharing the gospel, on the one hand, and the means of achieving that purpose, on the other hand.

It is not our purpose just to participate in discussions about the gospel or to talk to anyone and everyone we can about the Church or merely to set goals and make plans. These things are important, but they are a means to an end, and that end is bringing people to Christ."

I hope you will take some time and read that talk by Elder Christofferson. It brought me incredible insight into the purpose we must have BEHIND the missionary work that we all do.

I’m out of time. Transfers will be coming up next week, so again I will not email until Wednesday, and we’ll see what happens this go around!! Love you all! The church is true!

Elder Williams

Leave a Reply

