22 October, 2014 16:21

SO I FINALLY BROUGHT MY CAMERA WITH ME!

And then I realized that there really aren’t any pictures on it of anything that anyone else would find interesting. Nonetheless, here they are!

My dying Zone Leader, Elder Hansen! LOVE THIS GUY!

My muscles…

Elder Wright, Elder… Gibson?, Sister Tobler, and probably my last picture with Sister Herring in the mission!

Panoramic from the summit of our hike up to Sharp Top today =) (courtesy of Elder Vest)

Transfer News! No news is good news! I’ll be staying in the Lynchburg Walk area with Elder Vest as my companion! An incredible blessing… we have SO MANY wonderful people we are teaching right now! As promised, Jessica was baptized this past week! It was an incredible experience, a wonderful ordinance to witness, and the Spirit was SO strong during the meeting. At its close, Bishop McDaniel stood and shared that, second to the temple, baptismal services are the most spiritual filled we attend in our church. He suggested that it was because of the joy in heaven over one of our Heavenly Father’s children entering the pathway home. It opened my eyes a bit to hear him say that. I was so grateful to be able to attend and see it. Jessica, you are at the beginning, and we are all so proud of you, and so grateful to have played any small part in your coming into the Gospel. Keep going =) incredible blessings await you.

I love the Spirit in the mission right now. I love the seasons’ change from warm to cool to cold. I don’t understand it, but there is always a special feeling that accompanies that change for me. I feel invigorated. For me it also came with the advent of my 18 month mark as a missionary. With only 6 months left, 4 transfers… I feel the urgency for permanent change increase within me. I want to build barriers, strong and high, with turrets and guards and watchmen, between who I was and who I am becoming. I want to solidify into my character the things that I have learned through the first 18 months of my mission. Time is so short. I love this work SO much. I love this Gospel. I love my Savior, and I WISH that the people I talked to would care more about THAT than the levels of glory or the secrets of the temple. People have been so blinded by lies and distractions that Satan has built up for years and years against this Gospel and its truth. But time is moving forward, quickly now, and the Lord IS hastening His work. It is so evident. Every day we meet people who have been prepared, for years, to receive us. Every day we find people changing, willing after our first meeting to experiment on the word and pray to know. It’s happening so often, and we have been promised by our mission leadership that it will continue to accelerate. I hear it from the prophets and apostles and I see it daily. I am so humbled to be a part of it.

With these 6 months remaining, I began creating a vision of myself, of who I want to be. It focuses on the Christlike attributes contained in Chapter 6 of Preach My Gospel, with a few others added. I chose Virtue as my first focus. The Spirit I feel cleansing me as I work to "become" the Christlike attribute of Virtue is wonderful. I will share a summary of what I have learned these past 3 weeks in my next email. Will you study virtue with me this week? D&C 121:45-46 carries a beautiful promise of virtue.

I love you. I love my Savior. I love this work. =) I’ll be home soon.

Elder Williams

Leave a Reply

