Gift 2: A desire for the constant companionship of the Holy Spirit

Gift 2: A desire for the constant companionship of the Holy Spirit

"Sometimes as Latter-day Saints we talk and act as though recognizing the influence of the Holy Ghost in our lives is the rare or exceptional event. We should remember, however, that the covenant promise is that we may always have His Spirit to be with us." – Elder David A. Bednar

Before my mission, I don’t think I really knew what it meant to receive the gift of the Holy Ghost. Most definitely, I didn’t understand that having that gift given to us by the laying of hands meant that we could ALWAYS feel the influence of the Holy Spirit. I do know that I loved having God’s influence in my life, and that I cherished those moments when I felt His presence, but I didn’t know how to live to have that with me always.

I now know, and having learned it, one of my greatest desires is to never be without that influence in my life. I’ve found that that influence comes through the goodness of our works and the purity of our desires–"clean hands and a pure heart". I’ve found that it comes through keeping the commandments and upholding our covenants with God. I’ve learned that it comes through obedience to the influence of Christ within each of us, called the "Light of Christ", or "Conscience".

Galatians 5:22-23 But the fruit of the Spirit is love, joy, peace, longsuffering, gentleness, goodness, faith, meekness, temperance…

Ephesians 5:9 (For the fruit of the Spirit is in all goodness and righteousness and truth;)

Those fruits of the Spirit are changing my life forever. They are the evidence to me that God lives, and that my life and choices matter to Him. I know these things are true. I know it. I know it.

I love my Heavenly Father, and am so grateful to be in His service.

Love,
Elder Williams

Leave a Reply

