Gift 6: Honor for priesthood keys

Gift 6: Honor for priesthood keys

I have learned powerful lessons regarding keys of the priesthood. I will do my best to relate them here quickly. =)

Priesthood keys are given to certain men throughout the world to preside and watch over and receive revelation for their stewardship in the Lord’s church. For example, bishops are given priesthood keys to preside over their wards. They then call presidents for quorums within their wards and give them keys to preside. Those who do not hold keys of presidency but have callings within the ward are given stewardship and responsibility by those who do hold keys. In that way, each member with an assignment or calling carries an extension of the priesthood keys by which the assignment was given. Each assignment becomes a sacred trust from an authorized representative of the Lord, and is as though the Lord has called you by his own voice.

As a missionary in this worldwide church, I am called by prophetic keys to a specific mission, and then assigned by my mission president to serve and teach in a specific area of the mission. I become an extension of the mission president’s keys in that area of the mission. I carry power and authority only when I am within the bounds of my stewardship, and I am authorized only when I am acting in alignment with the Lord’s commands as they have come to me through my mission president and others in authority.

In D&C 1:38, the Lord states, “What I the Lord have spoken, I have spoken, and I excuse not myself; and though the heavens and the earth pass away, my word shall not pass away, but shall all be fulfilled, whether by mine own voice or by the voice of my servants, it is the same.”

I have a firm testimony of the reality of priesthood keys. When we sustain our priesthood leaders with our hands, our hearts, and our lives, we align ourselves with God’s will. In doing so, we allow His blessings to flow into our lives and the lives of those we serve and love.

This church is the Lord’s church. He is here with His angels laboring side by side with us. I am so grateful for these two years I have had to learn how to be a missionary. I look forward to laboring in this church and kingdom for as long as I am called and able to do so.

I love my Savior. I have set my hand to the plow, and I will never look back.

Elder Williams

Leave a Reply

