Gift 8: Faith in wisdom and prudence.

HA! I almost forgot to write! Ha ha ha.. I just got SUPER EXCITED because I FINALLY found the the “Because of Him” video that the church released last Easter hasn’t been taken down, it was just SUPER hidden. We’ve been given some pass-along cards that suggest that the video will be shared again this Easter in full-force. I am so happy. It is so moving to me. I just listened to the music in the background, and something fantastic happened:

I have loved these videos the church has been sharing for holidays, #ItWasMom, #ShareTheGift, #BecauseofHim. I suspected that a lot of the spiritual feelings were coming because of the powerful music the videos had in the background. I honestly thought, the videos are great, but it’s great filmmaking that makes it feel so powerful. I WAS SUPER, DUPER, WRONG! I was listening to the music play as I was typing an email. It pumped me up, yes, but then I swapped over to watch the video. It was on the scene of Christ appearing to Mary following His resurrection, and I saw it, and then the Spirit came, and filled me with that same familiar, powerful feeling that this video brings every time. I watched it till the end, and it remained.

This was a small experience today, but it was super meaningful for me. I’m very grateful.

Gift 8: Faith in wisdom and prudence.

I’m already over the time promised to my companion, so I want to make this short. I’ve shared a lot of touchy, feely testimonies about these gifts. As anyone who knows me can testify, I have a lot of feelings. Well, before I left for my mission, I found a soul mate. She came into my life for a short time, shook my world up, taught me things I needed to know (and a lot of things I wasn’t ready to know), and then departed. One thing she taught me was wisdom, but I didn’t understand what part it played it daily life, especially not where the gospel is concerned.

Wisdom: The soundness of an action or decision with regard to the application of experience, knowledge, and good judgment.
Prudence: Acting with or showing care and thought for the future.

When President Salisbury arrived in the mission, this was the first thing I learned from him, and the lesson came, as one member put it, “like a spiritual two-by-four to the head.” I had begun putting so much stock in feelings that I was nearly ignoring wisdom and prudence entirely. I faced many very real struggles as I fought to discern what the Lord wanted me to do. As one member put it, “It’s difficult to place mind over feelings in a church that places so much emphasis on following spiritual promptings”.

After a long talk with President Salisbury, and a few long talks with Heavenly Father, and now nearly a year of very powerful and meaningful experiences to affirm, I know that the Lord expects us to use good judgment as we make decisions. We need to ponder and plan, to apply wisdom and intellect, to make decisions based on research and experience, and then confirm those feelings through spiritual direction.

In saying this, I am not suggesting that we discount emotional communications from heaven and follow reason instead. I have learned that the Lord communicates to us by means of reason as well as emotion. D&C 8:2-3 tells us, “Yea, behold, I will tell you in your mind and in your heart, by the Holy Ghost, which shall come upon you and which shall dwell in your heart. Now, behold, this is the spirit of revelation“.

As we prayerfully seek guidance in our decision making, and then move forward with wisdom and prudence as we plan and choose for ourselves, the Lord will help us to become wise agents, capable of accomplishing incredible things of our own free will. As we move forward in our lives, remaining close to the Spirit, the Lord will prompt us when to turn, when to pause, when to change or adjust, and will guide us into the things that he desires for us.

I now know these things to be true, in the name of Jesus Christ, amen.

Elder Williams

One thought on “Gift 8: Faith in wisdom and prudence.

  1. Dear Elder Williams, I love you, and your spiritual messages. Your mission has been and will forever be precious to you … You will be teaching your children also these truths. I know that April is soon approaching for your departure.
    And I know that God has someone very special awaiting in your life as a sole mate. You will find her and not look back. When Darrel’s son Matt served his mission in Michigan, he met a lovely girl there and she followed him home..
    she is now his wife and they have two darling little ones. God rewards his own. And you have so much to look forward to in that field. You are handsome, talented and you have a perfect attitude and you will be blessed as Matt was. You may have already met her here at home who knows. God knows!! There are lovely pure woman yet to be found. And you will find your’s. I like what President Hinckley always mentioned for us to repeat,”Everything will be alright”…Our weather may reach 100 degrees tomorrow. I love that spring is near. I am glad I read your email. It sounded so like you Ben. Safe journey home in a month….Love, Nanny

Leave a Reply

