Discovering My Cause

This will be a bit exploratory. I still understand very little of the way things work in the worlds I’m entering, but I’m learning true principles, and am seeing some ideals.

I gained understanding this morning of a few of the whats, whys, and hows of my future career and public service.

Mosiah 2:14 And even I, myself, have labored with mine own hands that I might serve you, and that ye should not be laden with taxes, and that there should nothing come upon you which was grievous to be borne—and of all these things which I have spoken, ye yourselves are witnesses this day.

King Benjamin set an example as a leader and ruler of his people of self-sustenance and service. Somehow, we’ve reached the point where public officials are being sustained by government funding, which, I believe, is sourced in taxes. When i read this verse, the thought came that I could turn down any form of pay while serving in political office. It was an inspiring, ennobling thought, and my intention was securely planted there. I pictured campaigns funded through personal means and kept frugal by the abundant use of social media and word of mouth referrals. Such a candidate would have to be respected, trusted, and honorable, and would need to truly have a cause worth fighting for. Such a candidate would also need to be so successful in their personal career that it would be able to sustain them through unpaid, time-consuming service for extended periods of time.

I also thought of the way this asset is used in the church. Men and women who are able to fund and support themselves are able to set aside personal endeavors for six months to three years for full-time missionary service. Others give their time freely in various callings and service at home, and some are called to devote themselves entirely to the Lord’s kingdom until the day they are called home.

In the Garden of Eden, after Adam and Eve’s transgression, they were given these instructions by God:

Genesis 3: 19 In the sweat of thy face shalt thou eat bread, till thou return unto the ground.

I am beginning to feel that this was intended to be understood as a direct commandment, principled instruction, and not just as informative. We are to live and eat and have joy by the fruits of our own labors all the days of our lives. It’s possible, even, that this is the way joy truly comes.

One book I’ve decided to add to my list is John Huntsman Sr.’s book, Winners Never Cheat: Even in Difficult Times.

With all of this in mind:

Jacob 2:19 And after ye have obtained a hope in Christ ye shall obtain riches, if ye seek them; and ye will seek them for the intent to do good—to clothe the naked, and to feed the hungry, and to liberate the captive, and administer relief to the sick and the afflicted.

I have obtained a hope in Christ, and my intent is service in its purest forms. I don’t say this to boast by any means, but to say that I know why I’m here, and it isn’t about me.

So, my purpose for now is to become educated, informed, principled, and disciplined, and to begin to live, eat, and serve by the sweat of my brow.

I intend to become financially successful, intellectually competent, and socially aware–to enable me, not only to sustain my family and myself, but to provide an excess of means and time, enabling me to support and serve others.

Bit by bit I am finding my cause. I have much further to go in understanding it, but it’s coming. I believe I have much further to go, and of all things, that prospect excites me the most.

Please, pray for this country. Pray for its leaders and citizens. Pray that we will remember our duty to be proactive in the cause of freedom.

“The only thing necessary for the triumph of evil is for good men to do nothing.” – Edmund Burke

3 thoughts on “Discovering My Cause

  1. Very good letter Ben, may all of your work and wishes prove to be successful… you can do that. Love ya,Nanny

  2. Very well stated Brother Williams. It is weird not saying Elder Williams. Oh if everybody could be like King Benjamin it would be so awesome! One of my favorite scriptures is Jacob 2:19. Following it helps keep one out of the pride cycle and helps lift my spirits anyway. You have been the most devoted missionaries I have known. I am sure you will do well in your future as a husband, father, disciple of Jesus Christ, and whatever your career path brings you. Oh by the way I love the worm on the hook. I kept scrolling the page up and down to see it move. LOL.

Leave a comment